Jónsi

Is there a more subdued crowd than the one at a Jónsi show? You'd be hard pressed to find one. That being said, it created the perfect reverent atmosphere for Jónsi Birgisson's voice to shine through the darkness. The set opened softly, building up slowly from Stars in Still Water straight into Hengilás, onto Tornado and Kolnidur to Sinking Friendships. With the start of Go Do, he took flight around the stage. During Animal Arithmetic, the band hunched over and pretended to crawl around like what I can only assume were ants judging by the coordination of the lights in the background. They gained energy from the stage, continually building in intensity from each previous song. Throughout the entire set you could tell how much they all just felt the music coursing through their bodies as they were playing. For the encore, Jónsi arrived back on stage in full Indian headdress. I expected nothing less. With my camera in my hand at the edge of the stage, I felt like an intruder during the entire set. Everyone was captivated, as if held in place by his voice. The sound of my shutter was like glass shattering throughout the entire venue.

My favorite (non-musical) part of the show was at the end. After the crescendo died down from Grow Till Tall, all the guys filed back on stage to take a bow. As the audience showed their appreciation to the band for an amazing performance, Jónsi et al. just stood on stage clapping for us. It was touching.

The music was powerful. My only regret is that I couldn't have heard it twice.. once while I was shooting through my lens, and the second just stepping back and soaking it all in from the instruments and the lights to Jónsi's voice piercing the silence around him. I walked away from the stage with hope welling up inside.

But then I remembered that I had to pay $15 for parking in Grand Prairie. (Austin, don't let the Verizon Theatre happen to you.)

(My review on Austin Town Hall.)

Jónsi set on flickr
Some of my favorite runners up:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.