A Day in the Big Smoke

DDW's January Challenge Day 25: "Portrait"

3 portraits actually and a shot to show the crappy weather we experienced whilst visiting good old London town.

Dinner at L'Atelier De Joel Robuchon. I expected the food to be good, the portions to be small and the bill to be big and it didn't let me down. Still, it was a treat to myself and as the lady on the TV says, 'I'm worth it' , at least on this occasion. Was 3 hours from start to finish, starting in the bar, moving to the restaurant and then back to the bar. My kind of lunch. Felt a bit guilty though. We had an amuse bouche. Neither of us heard/understood what it consisted of so I tasted it and told Diana it was a mushroom veloute, topped with a fruit reduction and finished with a Parmesan foam, so she lapped it up. When they served the same thing to the couple on the table next to us, I did hear what it was. I got everything right except the mushroom bit. It was actually foie gras and Diana is a vegetarion - oops!

Called in at the Nespresso shop in regents Street. OMG have they created a cult or what. It's like an Apple store for coffee fan boys/girls. These people are wandering around the store looking at displays of different coloured coffee pods. If they can be bothered, and it seems they can, they stand in long queues to taste or buy the coffee. Why do all this when you can buy it online at Amazon and have it delivered for free? Madness. Whatever next.

Went to see 'One Man Two Govnors'. A very funny play. Possibly the most uncomfortable theatre seats I've ever sat on mind you. My fault for being a cheapskate and getting us tickets in the gallery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.