Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

Macro

I purchased a Sigma 28-80mm f3.5-5.6 macro zoom lens on eBay for quite cheap. When it arrived I found that part of the plastic mount was broken. My local camera shop quoted the repair price as approx. 4x the original purchase+shipping. Needless to say I left some very negative feedback.

Today I took this lens out and used it (very gingerly) to see what kind of quality it is before I make any decisions about repair. It operates fairly well as a normal-tele zoom and does well with macro also. The focus ring feels a little odd and is slightly slow to autofocus, but it's accurate once it gets there. I suppose I'll have to get a second opinion on repairs with this new knowledge, but I'm not sure it'll be worth fixing. Maybe I'll try to replace the mount on my own?

In other news, these flowers are in a garden alongside the river close to Brown's Island. I spent a decent chunk of my afternoon out and about in the sunshine. I'm trying to revisit a lot of my old haunts and see them from a different angle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.