Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

Autumn Drive

This is probably the first year that I've truly paid attention to the changing colors of the leaves. It seems quite extraordinary that a biological process stemming from a self-preservation tactic results in such beautiful displays of color. (Sorry, but I go back and forth between my photographic eye and my Biology degree.)

Today I went for a drive in the mountains. In true form I headed west along the interstate without consulting a map or even knowing which towns or roads I wanted to venture upon. Several times I was left nearly breathless by the exquisite scenery. Sadly enough this usually happened on narrow back roads where I could not find a pulloff. I only captured six photos in as many hours. This is one of the two that made the final cut.

Originally I had planned to take a small group with me, but it seems that everyone is down and out with the flu (or something similar). I've already made plans to return later this week (with perhaps a stop by a vineyard or two along the way) so I'm excited to see if maybe I can work a little harder at filling a memory card. Also, maybe traffic will not be so bad along the parkway during the week. I've never seen cars lining up like that out there. Many of the more popular overlooks were packed with cars and even overflowing along the shoulders of the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.