Cityscapes

By bluewlf04

Autumn in the City

After such an unproductive drive through the mountains on Sunday I was looking forward to a second try today. Then the weather report was for rain all day. Then, last night, it changed to sunny all day. Alas, the person who was supposed to go with me turned up ill.

Not one to let a series of bad luck get the best of me, I went the one place you would least expect someone to go when looking for beautiful scenery--into the city. I'm beginning to think that the autumn colors are even more beautiful here. That's probably due to the increased variety of tree species-- in the backcountry you generally have large stands of (mostly) single species. This of course means that you will have large stands of single colors. While I'm not knocking a valley of orange OR yellow OR red, isn't it much nicer to see all of these colors coexisting?

Needless to say, I had a pleasant day revisiting my usual haunts around town. I even took a handful of photos (well, quite a bit more than that, but most were for another project).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.