Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Yes We Have Got Some!

"Yes, we have autumn colour,
We have autumn colour today!"

(sung to the tune of "Yes, we have no bananas!" with apologies to absolutely everybody, but I couldn't resist.)

Today I've managed to find some autumn colour in a countryside where there is very little, and so I'm making the most of it. Yesterday I noticed a golden tree growing on one of the terraces opposite our house and so today I made a bee-line for it, and found a bonus of two cherry trees and an apple tree as well!

As I look around I can see lots of pine and olive trees, neither of which shed their leaves in autumn. Yes, we do have many vines and almond trees, both of which do lose their leaves, but they tend to go from green to brown and withered in one fell swoop, and anyway most of the almond trees lost their leaves during the heat of the summer and so have looked wintery for a while.

This may be my only autumnal blip. With our winds those leaves just will not hang on for long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.