Sou'wester

The sou'wester brought snow to the mountains and rain to the parched land.

A bit of excitement this morning. I heard wings flapping against the polythene on the greenhouse and went inside to look. Her Ladyship was sitting up in her bed, bleary eyed and very annoyed. One of the rowdy, demanding blackbird chicks was in a panic in the grapevine about a metre from her head. Not so long ago the bird would have been a gonner in an instant. But now she just sat in her bed yawning. My efforts to free the bird made things worse. It was hard against the wall opposite the door so I went out and slapped the outside of the wall. Then I rushed around to the door- it took me only a few seconds- and was surprised to find it all quiet. Both bird and cat were gone. I found Her Ladyship on the other side of the lawn looking rather ruffled, but there was no sign of the bird.

One year ago- Moonset

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.