Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Slavonian Grebe

Had a few hours to kill this morning before I headed off the see the Desolation of Smaug, the second film in the Hobbit trilogy. I tried to locate some Bewick Swans that turn up near where I live but no luck so it was onto Pagham Lagoon near Bognor Regis where a Slavonian Grebe had been seen. I had never seen one of these let alone photographed one.

I located the bird after about 30 mins looking through my scope and found it way out in the centre of the lake in very choppy water. I waited down wind of it hoping that it would ride the waves in my general direction and after another 30 minute wait it was close enough to get a picture that will suffice for my records. Yet again not the greatest picture I will post but hey ho it is another first for 2014 which I believe is now number 4 for this year already.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.