Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

La bibliothéque

I had to swing by the post office today and couldn't resist a pit stop at our local library on the way home. I've such fond memories of spending hours on end burrowed deep within the bowels of one of our campus libraries, browsing topics that had no bearing on anything I was studying and wandering deeper and deeper into the dark, cavernous depths of the massive building.

Our Bellingham library is much more manageable with a friendly, helpful staff and plenty of comfy seating. It was pretty busy in there today. I almost checked out Honeybee Democracy, an excellent book, recommended by one of my clients, but when I saw honeybees graphically pictured all over the cover, along with many color photos and illustrations inside, I had to skip it. I've suffered, all my life, with a completely strange and irrational aversion to viewing images - photos or illustrations - of insects. It makes no sense. So, I would rather forego reading a very fine book than have to handle a book covered with bee photographs.

See? I'm not nearly as "normal" as I may appear.



L is for library. Press the "L" on your keyboard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.