Last day

Before Alex and Nina leave. Back to the hospital this morning though as his thumb was definitely looking black .. the cast was just a bit too tight. And once again they could not have been more efficient and helpful .. then we had a trip into Ernakulam for a last bit of shopping for them .. So he is planning to take as little baggage as possible and see how it goes. The problem was not just the one wrist but he could barely move his other arm as he knocked the elbow. However I was telling my local ladies about this yesterday evening and there was another old lady I had not seen before sitting there. They were translating all that I said and some time later this old lady made to get up and go but could not lift herself even with her stick and then I saw her arm .. her wrist and hand hung at virtually right angles to the rest of her arm.. I asked what had happened and they said she had fallen . and why was it not fixed I asked.. too old they said. I really don't know if that meant she had needed an operation and was considered too old to have it or that they just didn't fix anyone who had a break after a certain age.. but it certainly put my news into context and I was reminded to listen to others stories before telling my own ..

and this is the promenade in Kochi - a beautiful walkway. We had a juice overlooking this before we left to come back to the house this afternoon Alex and Nina are packing now well she is packing for him and then we all have a meal together tonight .. Oh these goodbyes are tough. If however he can't manage the trekking which starts properly in a weeks time then he may come back here ... of course a part of me wants him too . .very selfishly and a part of me wants him to have the great experience that trekking in the North of India would undoubtedly be ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.