Combi31

By Combi31

Roe deer

So there was I, sat waiting for a goshawk, which flew by at a great rate of knots, when I was distracted by a huge murder of crows that was bombarding something in the field to my right.

Now, fields here are quite big - this one is over 2Km long and at least 1 km wide so the commotion was in the distance.
At first I thought it was probably a bird of prey, which crows chase mercilessly whenever they stray on their territory, which for crows is usually quite wide-ranging.

Then I saw movement, a lot of movement, so much that I thought it was maize blowing in the wind, when I realized *face palm* that there is no maize in the fields at this season (apart from the odd small field which at times is harvested when it is completely dry).

I grabbed my binoculars (pro innit) and saw what it was the crows were bombarding - it was a huge herd of roe deer.
I counted 27 deer in all - now this is a completely wild herd, not the park deer, which are almost tame and can be approached easily.
I sat as still as I could, although the car sort of spooked them and they gave it a wide berth as they ran into the forest.

Not a great shot, I know as it it very noisy due to the poor light and the resulting high ISO - but it was great to see so many in one go, as they usually move around in 2s and 3s.

I hope your Tuesday is a good one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.