Combi31

By Combi31

Golfech Nuclear Power Station, Tarn et Garonne

This may be worth a squint at in large.

Sorry about not getting back on the comments last night - I lost all the photos on my website due to a corrupted plug in ... *rolls eyes*
I then had to scrub the database clean with a mixture of Daz and bleach, polish the site and hoover it out with FTP - basically delete everything and redo the site ...

I'll be putting the pics back up tonight ...

Today I was working in Bordeaux and on the way back I decided to leave the autoroute and have a look at this place, which can be seen from the autoroute - big ugly bugger innit ....

These places have, for me, some sort of charm .. I really can't explain it, but this is what Ms. Wiki says about it :

The Golfech Nuclear Power Plant is located in the commune of Golfech (Tarn-et-Garonne), on the border of Garonne between Agen (30 km downstream) and Toulouse (90 km upstream) on the Garonne River, from where it gets cooling water, and approximately 40 km west of Montauban.

The station has two operating nuclear reactors that are both pressurized water reactors and of the French P'4 design.

The plant also has two cooling towers that gets water from the Garonne River, but it only takes water to compensate for evaporation; the cooling loop is closed and water is never released back into the river.

In 2002 the plant produced nearly half of the electricity used in the area. It employs nearly 700 full-time workers.

I hope your Wednesday is a good one and I will try and get back into the commenting thing as soon as my site is up and running as it should be - thank you for your comments, very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.