Devon Violets

Devon violets (they're sweet violets, too)
Grow quite close to the ground, purple-blue.
They have such a sweet scent
That, forever, I'm bent
So's my nose is opposed to my shoe.

poem © Celia Warren 2014

This is not the first time I've blipped violets but it is the first time I've shared this limerick - first published online here. Actually, it was far too wet for getting down on my hands and knees to see if I could detect any scent. Had a few sunny intervals, but too few for my liking.

Also, my back's playing up again, so bending is very painful. Hope it sorts itself quickly as my Treat Your Own Back book is packed in one of a pile of cartons; goodness knows which. Spent most of today on my feet as that's the most comfortable position.

Hey ho. Roll on the warmth and dryth of spring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.