Kangamoo

By ClaireH

Dal Beg

Went over to the west side of the island today with my momma and we visited one of our favorite beaches - Dal beg, In the native Galic language 'beg' means small, it may only be a wee beach but it always has the biggest waves on a stormy day. Today however it was relatively calm, I hoped that would be my impressive blip for the day sorted, but despite that initial let down what I managed to capture instead went beyond my original expectations.

This image I picked out is one of my favorites, a river flows down into the middle of the beach creating this ever changing scene of mini collapsing sand cliffs, shifting pebbles and raccoon tail-like patterns the dark tar leaves in the sand. I got wet feet in the process of this. Waterproof snow boots my arse.

One thing nobody prepared me for was how cold my hands would get while taking photographs, I had to weigh up whether or not the picture I was trying to capture was worth the pain, sadly for my hands the picture nearly always won. Its okay though, a few cups of hot tea eventually fixed this once we got back to the car, and the pictures were worth it.

Claire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.