Windows into my Life

By Tessa

A photo bombing suitor

I was busy taking photos of this fine looking monarch butterfly when a larger monarch came swooping in to see if he could get lucky! Not often you get 2 butterflies in 1 photo but the smaller butterfly had barely just hatched so I shoed the would be suitor away so this wee one could warm up its wings for its first flight!
I took this photo in a stunning wee garden! Its a public garden that has some abandoned old train trailers and a garden planted by locals to attract butterflies and boy does it do the trick. I have never seen so many monarchs in one place.. So if your in taranaki it's in Waitara behind the main road shops next to the railway track. I go there often as there is dozens of different flowers, tones of insects and the abandoned rusty train trailers make for an interesting back drop. The locals come and chat sometimes too and are always intrigued by my "hobby" I have been asked twice now if I was from the local newspaper!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.