guess what it is

hmmmm, perhaps it will be easy for you to guess what this is, what the man on the ground is reaching for? not me, I had to ask! larger view . . .

The object is attached to some very strong chains AND a huge crane. The crane and it's operator are moving this object out of the boat. After that's done, a new one will be put back in the boat through the smokestack!

I was told it weighs 6,000 lbs!! The young man in the blue hat told me . . . . are you ready? He told me one of the tug boat motors had died. It seems quite a process to replace it!! The new engine is on the ground, bottom right.

edit: Steven just found the information/website for this tug boat!

I saw this boat, which was quite large to be inside the harbor on my way over to Longboat Key today. I thought to myself, if it is there on the way back I'll stop & take some photos. The boat was there, obviously . . . I had no idea this tug boat engine swap was going to be happening though and that I would become so fascinated I would take 95 photos!! It was quite a job. I would like to put more of the process I witnessed up online, but not tonight . . . it was a busy day and the granite counters are coming tomorrow!! I am going to try to catch up a bit here tonight but if I don't catch you tonight it will be very soon!! Thanks for your wonderful comments on my Bill Buchman class. Many, many thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.