Along the Fence Rail: Shadows and Light

These past few mornings have been the coldest mornings so far this winter. I had been staying inside for several days, so finally going outside on this day was both delightful and shockingly cold. My morning jaunts took me onto campus, and I had the opportunity to watch the sun rise, once again, from a real peach of a vantage point at the Arboretum. It was a view somewhat similar to Friday's sunrise shot, only without the teardrop shape to the sun.

I was walking back over to catch the bus to my building, when I stopped to take a few photos of the morning light along the fence rail that lines the pathway to the president's house. You've seen this fence rail before. It is visible along the right in one of my fall foliage shots from November. And along the left edge in a green photo from a summer or two ago.

It was a very different view on this morning, though. There was almost no color, but the light and shadows were wonderful. So I switched to monochrome to emphasize them. I hate to admit it but the sight of light on a fence row can make me misty. I'm not sure why. It can be morning light, or late afternoon light. Sometime when the shadows are long and contrasty, as they were on this particular morning. You could get lost in them . . . lost in the shadows, lost in the light.

The song: Lou Gramm, Lost in the Shadows, from the soundtrack to the film The Lost Boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.