Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tu-lips from my Tru-love

Fifty eight years ago, I entered the world, probably screaming and definitely not happy to be yanked from my comfy womb. Holy crap - I'm, 58 years old!! When did THAT happen? Last time I checked, I was 30...

Today's blip is a simple one - the tulips from my husband, the love of my life. I'm afraid I didn't spend much time at all on this - took a handful of pictures, picked the one I liked best, and there you have it. No fiddling, no cropping, no nothing. The rest of the day has been consumed with other things, leaving no time for photography, a situation I plan to remedy tomorrow.

My laugh for the day came when I looked out the living room window just in time to see the Gang of Eleven (our local flock of wild turkeys) galloping through the yard, up to their bellies in snow, headed for who knows where. There is something about watching turkeys run that always makes me smile - they are such big, ungainly looking creatures that I guess it's no surprise that they avoid flying unless absolutely necessary, but I still find it comical. This group started as 13, and I think they are probably a combined family of two hens and last summer's poults. They are all the same size now, but you can still see some "teenage" behavior in some of them. The last few days several of them have been attempting to fan the tails - the males, no doubt trying out their moves ahead of the breeding season. I'm not sure if turkeys breed during their first or second year - I'll have to do a little reading on that and get back to you.

Hubs and I are going out for a nice dinner tonight, along with a bottle of something red. And then probably a fairly early night as we are both tired and a bit frazzled by life at the moment.

I think you can safely expect a return to a birdy photograph of some sort tomorrow...

Cheers, good people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.