bucks life

By bucksmiss

Lily White...

...Or in this case Lily Black. I'm not a cat person and this one did scratch me in an unexpected outburst while apparently sucking up to me today, reminding me why I'm not a cat person. I don't get them. They are confusing to me. You know where you are with a dog. Dogs are people pleasers on the whole. Cats are not. I'm traditionally a people pleaser. I wonder if that's significant as to my preference...

However, she is teeny, prim and beautiful and looked great against the patterned rug in front of the wood burner at my friends's house tonight. My blip is heavily treated as it was quite out of focus but I quite like the end result. In my mind it reflects her unpredictable and vicious behaviour....

All of that said, B rang tonight to say things are not improving with Dolly the Dobermam cross puppy they were hoping to adopt and she (B not Dolly) is ready to give up as Dolly is still scared stiff of her. I can't say I'm surprised. Now, she's never been a dog person.

I was hoping to recoup my missed day off today and until 9.40am I thought I had. I was enjoying listening to Germaine Greer reading Book of the Week, her new book called White Beech about her 12 year mission to reinstate some native rainforest in Queensland. Fascinating. But then, misery, I was called in to the office as we are still very short staffed owing to the flu. I had a reasonable day in spite of that and am now looking forward to a free day tomorrow instead, meaning a long weekend. Yippee. I'm going to see my sis and baby Teddy. Yes.

I had a lovely evening with my friend K who cooked, largely her own home grown veg which is always impressive. She told me she's had a cancer scare and is still facing the possibility of losing a kidney. She's very brave and stoic and has only just started telling her family and friends despite this having been going on for several months now. I think it's her Ukranian peasant heritage that makes her so strong. That's a compliment. In true Greer style, I'm always so impressed and amazed by my strong, independent female friends. I guess I'm one of them too. I just don't feel it sometimes....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.