A brave (or very hungry) blue jay

As predicted, our thermometer reached 30 degrees F today. Not exactly a heat wave, but definitely an improvement over recent days, and the animals in the park were celebrating. I placed a few peanuts on the fence post, and before I could say, "Food's on!" chickadees, titmice, downy woodpeckers, blue jays, white-throated sparrows, red-bellied woodpeckers, lady cardinals, male cardinals, deer, and a squirrel swarmed into the neighborhood. I had blip choices a-plenty, but the blue jay gets to be star for the day. He is so photogenic, but normally reticent about coming anywhere near humans. He waits until I have wandered off a distance before making his approach. Today, much to my surprise, he swooped right down, helped himself, and hung around for awhile as I fired off six or seven shots while he enjoyed his treat (photo shots, that is).

Thanks for all the comments and stars on my screech owl blip yesterday. I was delighted to capture it. I went back to the box today, but he was nowhere in sight. I will keep checking, and I'm also keeping my eye out for the towhee. He wasn't around yesterday or today, but it keeps me coming back, and I guess that's a good thing. Tomorrow is Friday; time for a Friday Face. I haven't been able to get out on the last two Fridays, so here's hoping I find a "face" to post tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.