Fairisle Fun

The horizontal rain and driving winds continue fae the sooth east. On our wind device the minimum wind speed so far today has been 54 mph. The barometer cannot get much lower. No boats today. Things are not helped when we get a call from our pal Bob, who is sitting in a balmy Laich o' Moray asking what like is oor weather.

First thing today (and half-comatose} I vaguely heard the Current Mrs Creel say she going to 'red oot the wardrobe'. The next thing I knew the kitchen table was festooned with fairisle, some old and some still in progress.

The one at top left CMC knitted for me forty years ago (can't quite squeeze into it now). Her mother used the same pattern to knit the slipover for CMC's father in the 1950s. The red cardigan is CMC's. She is such a speed knitter - even with several colours. She informs me she is now approaching the 'steeks' stage.

As I write I can smell a batch of buns and CMC just popped through to ask if I wanted Tattie soup. Some days I don't know how I cope. She just shattered my reverie by asking me to go oot and fetch in some coal and peat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.