HelenJG

By HelenJG

Puff the Magic Dragon

Torrential rain here today, so I abandoned the idea of trying to shoot something outside. This is the shot I got the idea for last night but was too tired to try. My first ever attempt at smoke shots and the first time I've tried to create a composite image with blending modes.

This is a composite of three different images, firstly Puff the Magic Dragon who I acquired whilst I was at University in Leeds, he has a cousin who lives with my oldest friend from those days. My original idea was to use steam for the smoke, but that didn't work so I had to improvise and use the smoke from a candle that had just been blown out, a few different shots then layered using the lighten blend mode, a tweak on the levels and hey presto here you have him!

I hope you like it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.