Good news?

I love Michael Schumacher. I used to be a massive Formula 1 fan; between 1994 and 2006 I watched almost every single Grand Prix. I loved it - I loved the skill, the strategy and the driving. But most of all, I loved this man.

I know that isn't the popular view, but I think he's a racing genius. You can say what you like about his demeanour and his tactics, but he is statistically the best Formula 1 racing driver there has ever been. Back in the day he took a struggling Ferrari team and rebuilt it's legend. He is an amazing strategist and a perfectionist.

Saturday 9 July 2005, I met my hero. It was my birthday and one of the best days of my life. It still is.

We'd gone to the British Grand Prix. A tip off from a friend said that the drivers were staying at a hotel connected to our campsite. I didn't really believe this, but nevertheless went along to the hotel at 6am, dressed in pyjamas, a fleece and a Ferrari cap. Sure enough, the drivers started coming out. I suddenly noticed there were no other Ferrari fans around; they'd congregated at another road end. I sprinted. Michael drove up in his car moments after I got there.

I pulled off my cap (and mentally berated myself for only having one with 6 stars on instead of 7) and soon enough it was my turn, I handed it to him to sign and lost all capacity to speak. Instead of saying something normal like 'good luck for qualifying today', I rather pitifully said 'miiiicchhhaaeelll' and just stared. He signed my cap, handed it back and then was gone. I ran back to the tent to tell Jane and Neal. These were long before the days I could run, so I arrived there unable to breathe, crying my eyes out, clutching a cap. I have never been happier.

That night, we also bumped into Barrichello (he also drove for Ferrari at the time) in a Chinese restaurant and he signed the top I was wearing. I was able to converse with him and wished him luck for the race the next day. BEST BIRTHDAY EVER.

When Michael retired in 2006, I was unable to watch F1 without him. When he reappeared as a reserve driver in 2009 I started up again. However, when he made a proper comeback; I found I loved him too much to watch. I haven't watched F1 since.

Understandably I've been very upset about his recent skiing accident and subsequent medically induced coma. I've heard that the longer you're in a coma, the less chance there is that you'll be the same person if you wake up, or that you'll even wake up. I don't even want to think about PVS.

Anyway, following surgeries, the doctors have finally started to wake him up. Early reports say that he is awake, blinking and responding to instructions. I really hope this means he's on his way to a full recovery. I'll continue to follow his recovery closely. If anyone can recover, it's Michael. He's a fighter, and a bloody good one at that!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.