Delamanda

By Delamanda

A philhippic selfie

Given that it is the Chinese New Year today, it is no surprise that the OED has chosen the adjective philhippic as its word of the day. Philhippic means: 'Fond of or interested in horses' (OED). As we have a family do tonight, I thought that I would easily find something horsey on arriving in the depths of the Cotswolds. First port of call was the estate where we used to live - and by estate, I mean housing estate, not a Downton Abbey type estate. There used to be a sign on a nearby gate that made reference to horse-drawn vehicles, but it is no longer there. The filthy weather meant that there were no philhippic enthusiasts out for a quick gallop and Black Beauty was nowhere to be seen. Scratching around for inspiration, I suddenly realised that the answer lay around my neck, so a bit of a selfie tonight. This was given to me some years ago on a visit to a ranch in a remote part of the USA - I can't remember the name of the town, but I do remember that the ranch supper was buffalo balls, and to this day, I don't know whether they were large meatballs made of buffalo or .... well, you can fill in the gap yourselves!

I'm also feeling rather smug, as I've just realised that I have completed the first month of my 2014 challenge - to take a daily pic informed by the OED word of the day. 31 down, 334 to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.