Delamanda

By Delamanda

Born to be ramage

As I had no intention of going to the zoo today, I had to look elsewhere to populate my word of the day – the adjective ramage, meaning: ‘Of an animal: wild, untamed, unruly, violent’ (OED). On further reading, there are several different contexts in which it can be used – or rather, could have been used, since it is now obsolete in most instances and rare in others. I find it rather odd-sounding as an adjective, and to my ear it is more akin to a verb or noun “Born to ramage” or ”The ramage is on the loose again”, but adjectival use was called for and I am trying to play by the rules. When used about a person, the definition is given as: ‘fierce, frenzied, uncontrollable; excited, unruly’ (OED). So who better to step into those ramage shoes than Nick? No model releases, no spending half the day in make-up (he gave that up in the eighties, when I would no longer share my eye-liner and Ultra-Glow*) and a cup of tea as a fee! Thanks Nick! xx

*For the avoidance of doubt, Nick only wore make-up on stage … as far as I am aware!

Day #32 of a 365 project, where the daily pic is informed by the OED word of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.