Rare event

The bad experience on Monday when we set out to go to 'Up' was made up for today. I timed my journey across the city so as to get to the cinema complex in Dún Laoghaire between showings and hopefully manage to pick up tickets without becoming embroiled in a long queue for food and drinks. The grand plan worked, I didn't have too long to wait, and Carl and I met shortly after six for a relaxing pint before moving on to the newly opened Milano restaurant for a pleasant bit of Italian food, all timed perfectly to get us back to the cinema without rushing.

'Up' was absolutely brilliant, and the 3D effects were enjoyable and very effective. I know the critical consensus is that 'Wall-E' is supreme, but I must admit that it left me a bit cold, whereas 'Up' is much more successful when it comes to establishing rapport between audience and characters. Great stuff!

Earlier, a good chunk of the morning had gone on bringing my MacBook for warranty repair. The poor thing needs its logic board replaced, according to the Genius people in the Belfast Apple retail Store, and I'm anxious to have it functioning properly for the forthcoming trip to the South of France. The guy in Typetec says replacement of the logic board is a straight-forward business once they obtain the part, and seemed confident that I'd have my machine back in plenty of time to take it away with me. Traffic flowed surprisingly smoothly along the M50 on the way over, so getting there didn't take too much time. Much more time-consuming was transferring stuff over to my iMac so I won't be stuck while the MacBook undergoes repair. It seemed really strange when I came home and the space where the MacBook usually is was bare and empty. I'm missing it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.