Feargus Hetherington

I am just home after a fabulous evening at the Mackintosh Church. Tonight we saw a five star performance by some of the best musicians in Scotland. Opera singers Paul Keohone and Wilma MacDougall, along with violinist Feargus Hetherington and pianist Geoffrey Tanti gave us a memorable evening to celebrate the music, words and song of Robert Burns. The Mackintosh Church looked amazing.

Wilma MacDougall and Paul Keohone performed a number of solos and duets including:
Ye Banks and Braes
The Deil’s Awa wi the exciseman
John Anderson
gin my love were yon red rose
Comin Through the Rye
Ae Fond Kiss
Wert Thou in a Cauld Blast
Aye Waukin O
Gae Bring to me a pint o’ wine
Ca the Yowes
Duncan Gray
whistle and I’ll come to my lad
My Love is Like a Red Red Rose
My heart is sair
Scots Wha Hae


This was nicely interspersed by Readings and then we had performances by Geoffrey Tanti on piano and Feargus Hetherington on violin.

One of the highlights for me was Ae Fond Kiss and Feargus’s rendition of Dvoƙák – Song to the Moon, it reminded me of Somewhere over the Rainbow and the other was The Ship.

The evening finished with a rousing Auld Lang Syne.

The Mackintosh Church is such an amazing and intimate musical venue that it amazes me it is not part of the Celtic Connections programme. Mackintosh and Burns is certainly a world class partnership.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.