WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

Home Altar

Every home should have a place that represents what gives them peace. A place they can look to, take a deep breath, and remember what gives them the strength to push on.

At least that is what I believe.

Be it a cross on the wall, a photo of a guru, or something more elaborate.

This started as my temporary altar. It's certainly not a place I can comfortably sit and meditate, it's the first thing you see when you walk in the front door, which is cool, but impractical for Buddhist practice.

It's ok, as it grows, as I hang my prayer beads from the hooks, add more books or special trinkets that are important to me, I'm liking the look and feel of it as I walk in the front door or as I leave.

I have found that due to my varying medical conditions, meditating flat on the living room floor with my knees bent is more accommodating to chronic pain and allows me to meditate longer.

I slept all day today, so this was not the blip is planned, but all things happen for a reason don't they?

If you are curious about the kind of Buddhism I study, you can check out the Lama Surya Das and Dzogchen Buddhism. I am not a purist but this is my guide, I am also not an evangelist in any way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.