WhatTheJules

By WhatTheJules

It's Fundamental

This is a very small portion of my non-electronic books. I love books. The feel and smell, the very concept that they are packets of ideas and imagination. I love that great knowledge can be passed to anyone who wants it, and all they need to do is pick up a book.

Reading is, as they tell us, fundamental.

I'm not happy with this shot but the dining table is in the way.

Books here range from Plato to Gaiman. From Clinton to Eco. I see a note my daughter wrote a decade ago that I had been using as a bookmark. "I <3 Mom" and a pop-up my mother gave her about two decades ago for Valentines Day called "Love Bug".

I own about 1oo cookbooks that I need to unpack. I read them like novels and I use them to cook. I have several more boxes of fiction and non-fiction books to unpack.

I have a sad story about how I lost almost 300 books including my collection of first-edition Anne Rice books. It's too sad. Like deaths in the family. And anger provoking.

The painting is by Richard Reiner (cousin to Rob). It is one of three landscapes hanging in the apartment. They belong to my foundation The Chronically Awesome Foundation, and are for sale along with other paintings I store here for the foundation. Maybe you'll see them in future blips. Sale of these paintings assist in art therapy and peer-to-peer therapy as well as other programs for the chronically ill. ChronicallyAwesome.org

I look forward to being less chronic and more awesome, you will notice the day by the locale of my blips. They will be outside. Perhaps reading a book in my park.

Cheers! Happy reading!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.