'Amos The Magician - One year On'

Wow, what a day today.

Firstly, after fresh eggs on toast for breakfast we headed down to the Warrandyte market for a look around and to buy MsMun some bags of poo for the garden. Sadly there were none there today, but we did run into our old friend here 'Amos the Magician'. This exact Saturday one year ago today was when we also visited this market and first met Amos. It was at that meeting that Dylan became interested in magic and therefore became know as 'The Boy Magician' learning every type of magic trick he could. The shot I took of him last year also became a Staff Pick on my blip and later won me an iPad for a competition that 'The Age' newspaper was running called 'Curious Melbourne'. Anyway after I had won, the newspaper got in touch with me to see if I knew how to get in touch with Amos because they were interested in doing a story on him. I could never find out how to contact him, so the idea seemed to just disappear.

Today I was so thrilled to see him there and tell him how much that photograph means to me. He was also very excited about it and I said that I will print out some shots and give them to him next time we visit the market. He also wrote down his email address and real name to give to me but somehow I seem to have lost the piece of paper from out of my pocket somewhere today. I'm really annoyed at myself, but I know where to find him again next month. Apparently he's been in East Timor with the Australian Army entertaining and exciting the local Timorese kids and the word travelled fast and he became pretty well known around the villages. He was more than happy to pose for a few more shots today.

It was another stinking hot day and the kids were both moaning about the heat, so I dropped them at home and went up to my fave watering hole, the St.Andrews Pub to see my mates Ben Kelly & Steve Davies playing. Another great few sets and Steve even brought along his new trumpet and had a blow, even though he can't yet play it properly, nobody cared, I thought it just added to the relaxed atmosphere of the place.

Home for about an hour and then out to dinner at our friends Nick & Jackie's house. Nick is a very keen home brewer so we had a bit of a tasting night followed by a Jamie Oliver curry that Nick had made.

It's just gone 10:20pm and I need to get to bed to prepare for tomorrow, another 40 plus degree day, but luckily MsMun and I will be sitting in air conditioned comfort inside the Regent Theatre watching King Kong. Tomorrow night will be the Chinese New Year Celebrations at my mother in laws. More great food on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.