DaveH

By DaveH

Goosander and Mallards

A female goosander (Mergus merganser) and a pair of mallards (Anas platyrhynchos)

I went for a walk along the Water of Leith today, between Dean Village and Roseburn, basically just for blips :)

Had a real problem getting a decent shot of the goosander. Initially there was a pair of them, but in a very gloomy bit of river (and it was awfy overcast anyway) Camera doesn't like focusing at distance in low light. After I'd stalked the pair for a wee while, they obviously decided I was a threat and suddenly exploded away, one upstream, one down. Startling and spectacular =D Eventually saw missus again with these mallards and got a few captures, but still look pretty soft to me.

Anyway, M is returning from deepest Buckinghamshire in a couple of hours. Hooray! I'm off to put the tea on.

Good weekend to all blipsters!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.