Small Places

By PicLocata

Seal and salmon

I went out to look for picture in the rain, more in hope than expectation. Walking over the railway bridge I saw beneath me what I thought at first was a large dead fish on a log. I had a brief moment to realise that I was seeing a seal lying on its back with a partly-eaten fish on its chest, before the seal sunk out of sight.

The seal re-appeared upstream and drifted towards me three or four times, each time holding a fish - I guess a salmon. At the time I thought it was slowly eating the same fish, but I can see in the pictures that it had caught one or two new, struggling, fish. It's just possible there was more than one seal too, as I never saw it swimming upstream.

These were taken in rain and fading light, and are 100% crops at the limit of my lens, so the quality is poor. But I was delighted to get any image of a sight I haven't seen before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.