Small Places

By PicLocata

February sunshine

It feels like weeks since I last saw the sun. Actually there have been a few brief spells since Christmas, but a sunny couple of hours this afternoon is notable none the less.

I had an unexpected call this morning from the bank. Actually a text message and automated calls to both my mobile and home line. My bank card was used in Bogotá last night. They declined the transactions and are sending me a new card.

What interested me is that they gave the address where the card was used. With only a little effort I could learn from Wikitravel how Bogotá street addresses work, and find the place on Google Street View. It turned out to be a Santander branch.

It's a reminder of how the internet not only allow a highjacked card number to be used on the other side of the world, but also allows me to follow it. Virtually that is - I have no desire to go to Bogotá myself after reading in the same Wikitravel article of the perils of travel by taxi.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.