Travels Through A Lens

By SnapshotSam

Paul Reas

Met up with Yearofhappy, Covered in Bees and Dr Macken last night after work and of course we talked photos, blip, blippers, a bit of running and life in general. A fantastic group of people to spend a Friday evening with. Thank you guys x

I didn't really take any photos on Friday as I'm currently completely deflated when it comes to taking photos.

But today I went through to Bradford where I first saw my friend Jean's exhibition - We Are Alive Again in collaboration with The Love of People, showcasing family photographs she was passed when her Nana passed away. Many generations of family photos in one place is a great site as we can all associate with the photos in one way or another mainly due to the way they were printed through the decades and we all have these types of photos in our family albums. The way Jean has exhibited the photos was very inspiring and it's a shame it's only on today.

I then went on to the Impressions Gallery to listen to Paul Reas talk about his first major retrospective exhibition. Influenced by photographers like Martin Parr, who I am aware of, I hadn't known about Paul before and knowing the story behind photographs brings them and the photographer alive for me.

My blip is Paul holding up a book and pictures that influenced his photography as he was setting out. We all need influences and inspiration and with so many images and photographers out there we also need to be able to find the photographers that inspire us amongst the masses. Not an easy task but there are those on blip that truly inspire me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.