Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Mercy Corps

Today the International Community Service class that I'm co-leading with colleague, Cecelia Barry Monto, took a field trip to the international headquarters of Mercy Corps. As it's central mission, Mercy Corps is dedicated to helping people around the world achieve "secure, productive and just communities." This is no small endeavor, as we learned today by looking closely at the current situation in the Democratic Republic of Congo. Hundreds of years worth of oppressive rule and turmoil makes it extremely difficult today to achieve peaceful change.

The photo is of a simple display. The words on the figures tell the stories of two locals, one in Gaza and one in Africa.

The woman on the left: "I'm about to graduate high school, but there aren't many jobs here in Gaza. The conflict between Israel and Palestine means the borders are closed, and I can't leave to find work. But, a teacher helped me discover that technology isn't restricted by boundaries. I joined a business start-up competition and my team created a prototype for an app. I plan to create my own tech business someday."

The man on the right: "I decided to sell cook-stoves because my customers want them. They produce less smoke and use less firewood, so kids don't have to spend as much time searching for it. But, they're expensive. Mercy Corps helped me create new financing and marketing plans to meet my customers needs. Now they can try it for free for a week, pay me in installments, and even receive free charcoal if they buy a stove."

Just two ways that Mercy Corps is living into its ambitious mission of creating secure, productive and just communities around the world. It's very inspiring to see so much being done to help others in need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.