If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Auricularia auricula-judae?

A horrible day weather wise! Blowing a gale, pouring with rain! No sane person would set foot outside the door if they didn't have to, certainly not carrying a camera.

So I put my coat and hat on, wrapped the camera in a plastic bag, picked up the tripod and went into the garden. As you can imagine the choice of subject was very limited. However I found these fungi which I take to be Auricularia auricula-judae. If I am correct they seem in the process of changing their common name. Probably because the one I have always known is now deemed not PC.

The story (as it has always been told to me) is that Peter cut the ear off Judas' when Jesus was taken by the Romans in the garden of Gethsemane. The fungus was originally known as Judas' ear which over centuries became Jew's ear. Now it would appear it is being known as Jelly Ear!

If anyone can tell me I am definitely correct in my identification I would appreciate it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.