Mikey88

By Mikey88

Bee House

The weather wasn't as bad as had been threatened down here today. I managed to get a quick three quarters of an hour in the garden between showers, so got a few more branches off the buddleia. The end is in sight. I might actually finish pruning it this year.

While I was out there, I noticed the bee house, which I have blipped. It was a 'secret santa' present by one of my colleagues at the school where I used to teach, and has been hanging there for several years, now and looks like it has just about reached the end of its useful life. I haven't actually seen any bees go into it, although I have seen several landing on it. I think it will end up forming part of the log pile I'm building and we will get some form of replacement.

I had an interesting morning. One of the local churches runs a 'Men's Breakfast Club' on the first Saturday of each month. They provide a fried breakfast and a guest speaker for about half an hour. This morning, I was the guest speaker. There were about a dozen people there, and I gave a quick run through of my photography kit, and then a presentation of pictures I had taken at the local Nature Reserve, which I visit regularly.

I used a selection from a year's worth of pictures, and organised it into the seasons, showing each shot for about five seconds, while I gave a commentary on the pictures. It seemed to go down well, and there was even a suggestion that I could give the same presentation to the local W.I., which I said I would be happy to do. It was good being able to share my pictures rather than just having them sitting on the hard-drive.

Next month, they have a speaker talking about the medieval history of the village, so I may well go along to that one. It sounds really interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.