intothehills

By intothehills

Tracks

Today's the last day in the mountains for a few weeks. It's been an excellent trip - skills have been learnt & put into use - and now, out on the hill I can feel them coming together.
These hare tracks are a good example - a few weeks ago I might have thought hare - now I know. I know which way it was travelling, at what speed and when. I can look at the snow & know how its changed from yesterday & have a good idea what it'll be like tomorrow.
All of this has been made easier by the company of some good people and going home to my lovely wife each night - something that makes these trips away so much better.
I think everyone has a place that's special to them, somewhere they can go, even if its just in their minds eye, and things are good. Perhaps everyone hasn't found that place yet, but for me - I'm at peace in the mountains, I can feel my place in the world and be content. Its a good feeling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.