Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

The Old Fallen Oak Tree

For quite a few years I have driven along the M4 motorway between Cardiff and Newport. Just near the St Mellons junction, during the day I have always seen this old fallen oak tree. A couple of years ago someone had decorated it, but that's long gone.

It was a bit off the beaten track and I was never sure how to get to it, but always wanted to photograph it. For some reason, the urge had got greater this last couple of weeks and today I could resist no longer.

I parked up in Old St Mellons village and trekked across boggy fields making my way towards the motorway, and getting really muddy.

Eventually I found it and made the most of the available light, trying a few settings on the two camera's I had with me. Not long after getting a couple of dozen images the rain started again - luckily I was back at the car.

The image chosen is uncropped 1:1 format from the Fuji X100s. Again, it looked nice in colour but I've processed it black & white.

It's such a strong setting, and knowing how to get to it, I will make more visits through the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.