MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Dance Of The Two Weeds

Lovely day today. When I got to Fishers Green it was heaving. :(

My first shots were of some long-tailed-tits catching the sunlight nicely on willow.

I always stray from the designated paths and clambered down a bank when I spotted some goosanders. I have only togged a dead female before. The aspect was wrong, I was shooting into the sun but it was a thrill to see these beautiful ducks with their incredibly sharp bills.

I liked my position, it was lovely and warm. My bottom didn't get too wet surprisingly. I could hear people passing but they had no idea I was there.

My attention was drawn to a great crested grebe which was soon joined by another. They squared up to one another with their crests raised and shook their heads. Then they parted and dived at exactly the same time. When they surfaced they were steaming towards each other, heads level with the water, long trails of weeds hanging from their beaks.

As they met they reared up breast to breast, treading water furiously. They maintained this stance for a while as they performed their beautiful water ballet.

Then one dropped its weed, closely followed by the other. Lots more head shaking and breast pressing followed.

I am so fortunate to have witnessed this courtship diplay from my sunny spot. The aspect was a bit difficult and I should have selected a setting suitable for action. I wasn't really close enough.  My pics aren't great but I'm happy. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.