Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

The strings of my heart........

You blippers have no idea what a difference you have made to me over the past week, when I first posted an image.
I have had a bit of a time of it, having been accused of assaulting a pupil; no truth in it, but 10 days of total anxiety. I know that I am not the first teacher to go through this, and won't be the last, but it is a hellish time while it lasts, and I can understand why teachers give up and retire as soon as they can, or if they can afford it, get out right away.
Then there is blipfoto, which has given me such postive feedback on my images of the place I live, reminding me how lucky I am to be here.
Then there is the reading of my brother's blip journal - better than any phone call.
Then there are days like today: I had a wonderful teaching day today; guitar, bass, piano, even drumkit! - all the kids responded with enthusiasm and good humour.
I decided at the last minute to take a photo of a beginner clarsach player.
Ella has just had her 2nd. lesson, and is a natural. It takes your breath away. Teaching clarsach is done aurally, in the traditional way - no written music; the pupil has to copy the patterns you play by watching and listening.
So, today, Ella listened, watched, did it, and not only made the instrument sing, but did the same to my heart! I could have given her a hug - ah, no, not a good idea. Any contact with a pupil is a risk not worth taking. So, even in a glorious moment, the anxiety encroaches. Words of praise only, teach!
So, thank you Blipfoto, and thank you Ella.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.