The county boundary...

Thank you so much for all the comments on yesterday's rather experimental image. It was a single shot, taken with a fairly slow shutter speed and moving the camera upwards, and probably a little bit to the right. Normally I've taken similar in-camera motion shots from outside the birch plantation, with the light shining on the white trunks, but yesterday I took a single shot from inside, looking out towards the dusk sky, just to see what effect it would achieve. When I got back I liked the shapes and feeling of movement, but as it was taken at dusk the colours were muddy, so I converted it to monochrome in Lightroom which helped enhance the mood.

Today I'm back to colour and light. I woke up with a sore throat, but felt the need to get away from the computer, which has been occupying too much of my time lately. So Pete and I went to Deeping St.James to do a bit more botanical recording in the beautiful morning sunshine. This is the River Welland, which forms the boundary between Cambridgeshire and Lincolnshire - Lincolnshire is on the right, so includes the stunning gold weeping willow. Despite having a very botanically dull churchyard, we still racked up over 100 species. Spring is definitely moving on, with snowdrops and winter aconites in full flower, and the first velvety, dark-purple, sweet violet blossoms unfurling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.