Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Maggie and Bonnie

Although I received my 'When you're a Stranger' camera on Friday, there weren't any very suitable opportunities to find a stranger to photograph over the weekend. Today Rosie and I went out to Ferry Meadows at lunchtime, and I packed the little disposable camera in my bag. The weather was cold and blustery and I wasn't very optimistic that I'd find anyone who'd oblige.

Maggie was a godsend. We fell into conversation quite naturally, brought together by our dogs (always good ice-breakers!) and the flooded conditions of the paths. She noticed my camera and asked if I was a keen photographer. As we chatted I found out that she had taken up photography in her retirement and had actually done the first three months of a '365' project. She was quite happy to be my stranger and I hope she's pleased with the result.

I must admit it felt very strange to use a tiny film camera again, and I'm not sure whether my film image will come out very well. But I was pleased with this very natural portrait, especially as I only took three shots - it was a little bit chilly to hang around too long! I thoroughly enjoyed our encounter and might even be brave enough to approach more strangers - time will tell!!

So I now have a camera to pass on. There should be another six or seven shots left but all the blipcards have gone. If you would like me to send the camera to you, just leave a message here or e-mail me (the address is in my profile).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.