Normanshire

By Normanshire

Timkat – Mequat, Ethiopia

What to do? It's been an amazing day and how do I choose one photo?! Aaaaaah! I could have chosen ones of colourful umbrellas, dancing, drumming and singing. Instead I've tried to choose an image that has more of a story.

Today was Timkat, a religious holiday in Ethiopia. It commemorates the baptism of Christ and we were in a village called Mequat Mariam to join in with the celebrations. I've wanted to experience this festival for many years. I'm not a religious person at all, but it was a real honour to share it with such a welcoming community.

This photo was taken just after morning mass. The priests go down to the river (in this case, a hole with water which in the rainy season probably is a river/stream), followed by the faithfuls who are dressed in white. The priests are wearing beautifully embroidered gowns and holding matching umbrellas.

Once at the water, the priests say a blessing and then it turns in to what can only be described as a massive water fight. The priests fill bottles and cans and throw the water on the faithfuls which symbolises that they have been blessed. I was unintentionally blessed a few times, and so was my camera.

Here is a little boy waiting to be blessed with the faithfuls and the priests in the background.

I now have PTD. (Post Timkat Depression).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.