My Little Friend

I lost a lot of today, I am not sure why I was so tired. I am usually up around 5 but today I was not aware of a sound unit just after midday. I am horrified at myself. My plans were in tatters, I wandered aimlessly about the house, was it breakfast or lunch, I settled for one of my pint and a quarter mug of tea and some toast. The smell of freshly popped toast drew the twins to the kitchen and as I finished making my tea I realised my toast had been commandeered for a snack, a few random crumbs left on my plate.

I honestly could not be bothered making more, I went back to the dining room from whenst I came. I sat with my tea and watched the birds in the garden, settling on the old stone wall and in the trees in the field. I thought about this place, if I put a giant pair of compasses in the middle of the house and drew a circle it dawned on me that I had never lived more than 250 yards from where I lived now. The field at the end of the lane that encircles the house like a moat was the same field I played in as a child, and where rain, snow or shine the twins play too. It is funny how in this little village, my own children's adventures seem to mirror those I enjoyed as a boy.

I reflected on this and there was a tinge of sadness, I feel in many was I should have left this place, my friend once said to me that I was stifled by it and in hindsight they are so right. But on the other hand the twins have the freedom to play like i did as a child, from the house I can hear them n the field and from Fraser's window I can watch them without inhibiting their freedom in anyway. Our little village has changed in so many ways, the old familiar faces gone, but there remains a familiarity of places that have not changed in generations I can walk where I walked with my grandparents and the memories that stir warm every fibre of my being. I can sit in the same places I did as a child and feel young again the difference now though is that I am not young but still I yearn for the simplicity of those days.

The twins were starting the next stage of their skating journey today having been invited to join the elite group of competition skaters. They looked so little as they were put through their paces but they seemed to hold their own. The club session finished and after a short break while the ice was recut they took to the ice to warm up for their individual coaching session. I wish I was able to photograph them on the ice but petty council policy means cameras are not allowed, I can understand this at a public session but when the ice is closed to the public I find it somewhat over the top. Their first competition at national level is in March so maybe then there will be an opportunity to to capture them in action.

With the time constraints placed on my by my epic sleep I could only muster a few shots of my little friend in the garden, their song beautiful as I enjoyed the warmth of my hot sweet tea, his song seems to soar above all other birds in the choir as if drawing me to watch his performance. I hope you enjoy seeing him again and I am sure you will see much more of him,especially if I lose a day again!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.