Heading downstream

I got another outing today and this one involved a jet boat and fishing :-)

Here I'm lying back on the boxing that covers the motor with my camera above me. In large view you can probably just make out the dots of boats anchored and fishing on the Waimakarir River. That's where we're headed to. You can see my cast foot propped on the side of the boat. If you look carefully you'll see there is still plenty of bruising. (And yep, that's a set of crutches stored at the front - not used again until I was on dry land).

Or, to put it another way, I took this shot 2 weeks ago from where the boats are anchored, looking up the Kaiapoi River we're motoring down here.

The cloud burned off and and I've had a fantastic day. While we didn't catch a salmon we watched a friend of the fisher/hunter in another boat bring one in. They're big strong fish and I'm not sure what I'd do if I got one on my line but I guess I'd figure it out ;-)

We caught a number of small Kahawhai of which I caught one. That's good as I seem to have lost my fishing mojo so it must be coming back :-)

There is always something to watch. I particularly like watching the Shags, especially when they're diving and catching fish, or sitting with there wings outstretched drying their feathers.

It's just nice to get out :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.