Raestelle

By Raestelle

"1964" ...

...In support of Paladain's MONO MONDAY- an old photograph of myself, taken by my sister, on one of the stations properties 600 klms north, north west of Adelaide, South Australia..in 1964..

...It's one of the clearest pics I have, but I'll put on some others later on if you would like.. one is of the wild horses which came racing past just at the back there, they used to come in every few days, and we could hear them coming from a long way off, thundering across the land long tails in the air and they were gone in an instant...I think they were trying to influence other horses to "join the mob" from memory..

...We were possibly waiting for them to come past when my sister took this..the photo I have ofcourse is blurred as with a Box Brownie, they didn't allow movement, but I did capture one with the white stallion among them, not a good shot though unfortunately, but I thought I'd tell you about it anyway..

...I was living up there with my sister and brother in law on one of the stations where he was manager..I was only there for a short time though, the first time, looking after my brother's children while his wife was in Woomera, the nearest hospital - to have her 3rd baby..also to help with her children, my nieces..

...3 years later - I shifted back again for a year, I so enjoyed my time in that bleak outback land, on one of the most northern of stations in South Australia..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.