Transitoire

By Transitoire

Emily...

...who should definitely have been on Blip earlier, as I see her all the time, her being one of my really good friends here at Warwick. The reason for the pamphlet in front of her face is twofold:-

1. Today we had a training session for our new enhanced role in our job (more on that in a bit)
2. She has a black eye, caused by a collision between her and another player during a game of lacrosse. It is going to be hilarious when we work the next Widening Participation event (Saturday) if it is still around!

So the training session today was really interesting, and really helpful. Out of the 150 or so people who work for Warwick Welcome Service, we now have about 40 who are now Widening Participation Ambassadors. This means we get to work the fun events. Well, the events that I find really fun. We work with students from our catchment area who have the talent and the intelligence to go to university, but may not have the inspiration to go. This may be because they are not confident enough in their abilities, they don't know anyone who has been to university so don't really know what it is like etcetc. Our job is to encourage them to think about it, dispell all the myths and stereotypes of what university is like, and just generally boost their self confidence. I am very lucky to say that I really do enjoy my job at university, and that I am so glad I got involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.