Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

20-Year Old Circus Poster

We've been living in Pickering six years this month, and all the time we've been here the old Castle Cinema has been derelict. Just recently the site got bought by a property developer who is going to convert it to a couple of decent-sized townhouses.

Today the builders started work, so the boards are coming down and I've seen behind the facade of the old place for the first time. Peeking through the doorway it mostly looks like a building site, so not that photogenic. What caught my eye was this poster just by the door, for a circus visiting nearby. Based on a little detective work I reckon I've dated this to 1994.

I was amused by the bit at the bottom: "the World's Youngest Human Cannonball"! Can't imagine them getting away with that these days, what with Health & Safety and all that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.