Job description

When form filling I would select 'teacher' as my profession ( and my vocation - although forms don't tend to offer such a 'fluffy' option) but actually teaching 80+ students has only been a small proportion of my 14 hour day at work. I have held and / or attended three meetings - the last of which finished just before nine; I have had lengthy phone calls with several parents essentially offering parenting advice; I have chatted to students over break and picked up their litter and I have seen a significant proportion of them safely onto their bus at the end of their day. A long and not particularly fulfilling start to the week. But all is fine because the Secretary of State for Education has made various pronouncements including that schools should be open to students for nine to ten hours every day and that state education has been 'barely satisfactory' for decades. Brilliant! That'll get me through Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.